[INDOLOGY] 2021 DK Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis on Sanskrit and Allied Studies: Deadline 31 January 2021

soni at staff.uni-marburg.de soni at staff.uni-marburg.de
Tue Sep 29 15:00:17 UTC 2020

Dear Colleagues,

  The IASS (International Association of Sanskrit Studies) offers  
three awards which can be seen  
here: http://www.sanskritassociation.org/index.php, by clicking on  
“Awards” on the top bar. 

  Two of them are coupled with a World Sanskrit Conference (WSC),  
usually held every 3 years: Professor RK Sharma Award and the DK Award.

  With regard to the DK Award, however, the IASS has decided to keep  
to the original proposed date of the WSC in January 2021 (and not the  
now postponed date of January 2022). The main reason for this is to  
retain the three-year interval of the award.

  The DK Award for an outstanding doctoral thesis on Sanskrit and  
related studies was inaugurated in 2006 by the International  
Association of Sanskrit Studies at the World Sanskrit Conference in  
Edinburgh, in collaboration with DK Agencies, Delhi.

  The Award is for an outstanding PhD received in the period 2018-2020  
on Sanskrit and related studies. It is for a scholar who is based  
outside South Asia.

  As already said, the deadline for applications for the 2021 DK AWARD  
is 31st January 2020.

  Please write to the undersigned to show your interest.

  The IASS thanks Mr Ramesh Mittal of DK Agencies personally and DK  
Agencies as a firm for supporting Sanskrit scholarship in a generous  
way: One Thousand USD worth of books from DK Agencies.

  A reminder that the deadline is 31 December 2021 will be sent out in  
December 2020.

  Please see the details of the DK Award here:  

  /NOTE: The website will not be changed to say that the 2021 DK Award  
this time is NOT coupled with a WSC./

  yours sincerely,

  Jayandra Soni


  Secretary General, International Association of Sanskrit Studies


  jayandra.soni at sanskritassociation.org with a Cc to soni at staff.uni-marburg.de

  Previous DK awardees : Drs Wendy J. Phillips-Rodríguez, Himal  
Trikha, Michael Slouber and Andrew Ollett.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://list.indology.info/pipermail/indology/attachments/20200929/7990c57b/attachment.htm>

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list