Ananya Vajpeyi vajpeyi at csds.in
Fri Apr 29 19:38:26 UTC 2022

Wow Anne — big congratulations! Wasn’t sure you are on Indology...



On Friday, April 29, 2022, Hock, Hans Henrich via INDOLOGY <
indology at list.indology.info> wrote:

> I join the heart round of congratulations. A well deserved honor indeed
> Hans Henrich
> On Apr 29, 2022, at 10:50, Madhav Deshpande via INDOLOGY <
> indology at list.indology.info> wrote:
> Hearty congratulations, Anne! Well deserved honor.
> Madhav
> Madhav M. Deshpande
> Professor Emeritus, Sanskrit and Linguistics
> University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
> Senior Fellow, Oxford Center for Hindu Studies
> Adjunct Professor, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, India
> [Residence: Campbell, California, USA]
> On Fri, Apr 29, 2022 at 8:12 AM Olivelle, J P via INDOLOGY <
> indology at list.indology.info> wrote:
>> Dear Friends:
>> Delighted to inform all of you that our friend and colleagues Anne
>> Feldhaus was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a
>> distinct and well-deserved honor.
>> Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors
>> excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to
>> examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the
>> world, and work together, as expressed in our charter, “to cultivate every
>> art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and
>> happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” Our studies have
>> helped set the direction of research and analysis in science and technology
>> policy, global security and international affairs, social policy,
>> education, and the arts and humanities.
>> Notable members – from our founders John Adams, Benjamin Franklin,
>> Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington to Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria
>> Mitchell, and Alexander Graham Bell.  Other distinguished members have
>> included Margaret Mead, Jonas Salk, Barbara McClintock, John F. Kennedy,
>> Martin Luther King, Jr., Aaron Copland, Martha Graham, John Hope Franklin,
>> Georgia O’Keeffe, E. O. Wilson, Madeleine Albright, and Colin Powell.
>> International Honorary Members have included Charles Darwin, Albert
>> Einstein, Winston Churchill, Wislawa Szymborska, Laurence Olivier, Mary
>> Leakey, Gabriel Garcia Márquez, Akira Kurosawa, and Nelson Mandela. Our
>> current members represent today’s innovative thinkers in every field and
>> profession, including more than two hundred and fifty Nobel and Pulitzer
>> Prize winners.
>> With best wishes,
>> Patrick Olivelle
>> _______________________________________________
>> INDOLOGY mailing list
>> INDOLOGY at list.indology.info
>> https://list.indology.info/mailman/listinfo/indology
>> <https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://list.indology.info/mailman/listinfo/indology__;!!DZ3fjg!7M11Bfk7fBmx3CX7I__vi7YaTgLV_QiUjzJSIrdDj_w7kDK21gobu7FkxjUUQZrvRIkE6LwcizRjNLPeWMNp3SCUWce_$>
> _______________________________________________
> INDOLOGY mailing list
> INDOLOGY at list.indology.info
> https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://list.indology.info/
> mailman/listinfo/indology__;!!DZ3fjg!7M11Bfk7fBmx3CX7I__
> vi7YaTgLV_QiUjzJSIrdDj_w7kDK21gobu7FkxjUUQZrvRIkE6LwcizRjNLPeWMNp3SCUWce_$

Sent on the fly, please excuse typos.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://list.indology.info/pipermail/indology/attachments/20220430/6d9afceb/attachment.htm>

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list