Supernormal Powers in Ancient Indian Traditions

Peter Bisschop Peter.Bisschop at ED.AC.UK
Mon Oct 3 09:16:04 UTC 2005

Paa"supatasuutra 1.21--1.26 teaches another set of eight siddhis:
duuradar"sana, duura", duuramanana, duuravij~naana, 
sarvaj~natva, manojavitva and vikara.nadharmitva (or vikara.natva 
according to Kau.n.dinya's Pa~ncaarthabhaa.sya ad  loc.). 
Paa"supatasuutra 1.27--1.37 continues with another list of 
characteristics of the siddha.  In his commentary on Paa"supatasuutra 
2.12 Kau.n.dinya also mentions the list of eight "yogic" siddhis 
(a.nimaadaya.h). For a discussion of these different sets of siddhis 
see the article by Minoru Hara: `Paa"supata and Yoga: Paa"supata-Suutra 
2.12 and Yoga-Suutra 3.37', re-published in: Minoru Hara, Paa"supata 
Studies (Vienna 2002), pp. 33--46.
> The frequently encountered list of eight "yogic" siddhis 
> (a.nimaadaya.h)  is usually taught under the name, for 
> succinct definitions of these see K.semaraaja's Svacchandatantroddyota 
>  to 10.1073.
> See also Kira.natantra 58.52--60, Paraakhyatantra  14.93--96 (recently 
> published with a  complete annotated translation By D. Goodall in 
> Pondicherry).

Peter Bisschop
Asian Studies
7/8 Buccleuch Place
Edinburgh EH8 9LW
United Kingdom

e-mail: Peter.Bisschop at
phone: +(0)131 650 4174

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list