Official State Languages query

Peter D Banos pdb1 at
Thu Aug 15 18:32:46 UTC 1996

On Thu, 15 Aug 1996, Michael Rabe wrote:

> Can anyone confirm that this is the set and order of appearance of the 13
> that appear (plus English) on Indian currency notes:
> Assamese, Bengali, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Hindi, Oriya, Punjabi,
> Rajasthani, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu

I used to keep a Rs10 note on me for just such a purpose, but
unfortunately it didn't survive transfer into my current wallet.
My recollection though is that Marathi was there, and not Rajasthani.

						-Peter D. Banos
						pdb1 at

"Parthians, Medes, Elamites, and residents of Mesopotamia, Judea and
Cappadocia, Pontus and Asia, Phrygia and Pamphylia... in our own languages
we hear them speaking about God's deeds of power."

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list