Official State Languages query

Madhav Deshpande mmdesh at
Thu Aug 15 18:21:17 UTC 1996

The list of languages as they appear on Indian money in order should be 
revised as:

Assamese, Bengali, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi,
Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu

Hindi and English appear as frame languages, while other languages appear 
in a listed form.  The list of languages is alphabetically organized.  
There is no separate Rajasthani in the list. 
	Madhav Deshpande           

On Thu, 15 Aug 1996, Michael Rabe wrote:

> According to the World Almanac that comes with _Where in the World is
> Carmen San Diego_ India has 16 major languages...
> Can anyone confirm that this is the set and order of appearance of the 13
> that appear (plus English) on Indian currency notes:
> Assamese, Bengali, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Hindi, Oriya, Punjabi,
> Rajasthani, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu
> Presumably, Hindi gets pride of center place.
> So, my related query is this: how many official state languages are there
> all told and which are the additional ones?

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list