[INDOLOGY] five designations of tithis

Arlo Griffiths arlogriffiths at hotmail.com
Sat Mar 5 16:02:27 UTC 2022

Dear colleagues,

In Louis-Charles Damais' study “Études d’épigraphie indonésienne, IV: Discussion de la date des inscriptions” (Bulletin de l’École française d’Extrême-Orient 47 (1) [https://doi.org/10.3406/befeo.1955.5406], p. 70 n. 1) one reads about "cinq qualifications des tithi". According to the author, there are five such designations for tithis, i.e.

- Nandā (tithi # 1, 6 and 11 waxing or waning)
- Вhadrā (tithi # 2, 7 and 12 waxing or waning)
- Jayā (tithi # 3, 8 and 13 waxing or waning)
- Riktā (tithi # 4, 9 et 14 waxing or waning)
- Pūrṇā (tithi # 5, 10 and 15 waxing or waning)

He cites (11th-c.) Javanese epigraphical occurrences of three of these designations, but does not cite his source for the whole system.

Does it have its origin in Indian jyotiḥśāstra? I'd be grateful for references.

Best wishes,

Arlo Griffiths
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://list.indology.info/pipermail/indology/attachments/20220305/a0b4fb93/attachment.htm>

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list