's avataaras and phases of human life

Newman, John newman at NCF.EDU
Tue Jun 1 06:36:13 UTC 2004

The 11th cent. Buddhist Kaalacakra tantra (2nd pa.tala, vv. 6-8) 
employs the names of the ten avataaras of to designate ten 
phases of human life, from conception to death. I would be grateful 
for any references to comparable usage in other Indic sources, or for 
expert judgement that this usage is unique to the Kaalacakra.

John Newman
New College of Florida
Sarasota, FL 34243 USA

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list