Skt tenses and moods

Matthew Kapstein mkapstei at MIDWAY.UCHICAGO.EDU
Thu Nov 20 23:32:37 UTC 2003

Dear Vyaakara.nas'iroma.naya.h,

M.R. Kale's A Higher Sanskrit Grammar, ch. XII, p. 238,
divides the ten lakaara into six tenses -- kaalaa.h --
and four moods -- arthaa.h .

I would be grateful for references to passages in the
major classical grammars (Mahaabhaa.sya, etc.), or vulgar
Sanskrit grammars (e.g. Saarasvata) in which this
particular distinction occurs or is explained.

(Though Kale sometimes supports himself with an exact
citation, he's not done so here.)

with thanks for your attention,

Matthew Kapstein
Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes and
University of Chicago

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list