Official State Languages query

mrabe at mrabe at
Thu Aug 15 17:03:54 UTC 1996

According to the World Almanac that comes with _Where in the World is
Carmen San Diego_ India has 16 major languages...

Can anyone confirm that this is the set and order of appearance of the 13
that appear (plus English) on Indian currency notes:

Assamese, Bengali, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Hindi, Oriya, Punjabi,
Rajasthani, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu

Presumably, Hindi gets pride of center place.

So, my related query is this: how many official state languages are there
all told and which are the additional ones?

More information about the INDOLOGY mailing list